Thami Mnyele Foundation promotes the exchange of art and culture between Africa and the Netherlands.
La Bourse
Thami Mnyele
Le Conseil

Adriaan de Villiers, born in 1984, lives and works in Capetown, South Africa. He is artist-in-residence at the Thami Mnyele Foundation from February till the end of April 2013. Adriaan de Villiers was selected by Ann Demeester (De Appel Arts Centre), Fons Welters (Galerie Fons Welters) and Jelle Bouwhuis (SMBA).
After graduating in Fine Arts in 2007 at the University of Stellenbosch, South Africa, Adriaan participated in divers exhibitions. He won the prize for Best Sculpture in the Sanlam Vuleka Art Competition in 2008. In 2011 Adriaan took part in the exhibition "Genius without talent" at De Appel Arts Centre in Amsterdam. In 2012 he was invited to work as an artist-in-residence at the Arts Centre Dordtyardt in Dordrecht. In the same year a series of his sculptures were exhibited by Galerie Sanaa at Rai Amsterdam.

"The towers I draw appear infinitely tall. The appearance is inspired by the story of the tower of Babel in the book of Genesis. I combine male and female features in my tower designs. The male aspects are illustrated in the phallic shape of the towers and the aggressive drawing technique. Female qualities are visible in my use of pastel colors and the delicate appearance of the towers and their decoration.
Irrationality is emphasized in my tower designs by using unnecessary decoration and bright colors that are inspired by indigenous South African flowers. Hundertwasser, Gaudi, Japanese prints, outsider art, religious architecture and Gustav Klimt are a few of my influences." "My latest sculptures are inspired by a Milkwood tree."

Adriaan de Villiers
South Africa
Abdulrazaq Awosefo
Jabu Arnell and Sinethemba Twalo
Option Dzikamai Nyahunzvi
Terrence Musekiwa
Molemo Gapare Moiloa
Nare Mokgotho
Atang Tshikare
Aline Xavier
Haroon Gunn-Salie
Jody Brand
Ziyanda Majozi
Emmanuel Iduma
Simangaliso Sibiya
Razia Barsatie
Jabu Arnell
Tiisetso Molobi
Lazi Mathebula
Pamela Clarkson
Atta Kwami
Mongezi Ncaphayi
Em'kal Eyongakpa
Atef Berredjem
Rehema Chachage
Mohamed Ahmed Abdel Rasoul
Moshekwa Langa
Bernard Akoi-Jackson
Helen Zeru Araya
Admire Kamudzengerere
Zanele Muholi
Lara Bourdin
Awaad Issa
Ashraf Moneim
Louis Boshoff
Ruan Hoffmann
Krishna Luchoomun
Sultana Haukim
Adriaan de Villiers
Michele Tabor
Koyo Kouoh
Viktor Ekpuk
Santu Mofokeng
Mihret Kebede
Nisren Abasher Ahmed
Hasan and Husain Essop
Leo Lefort
Ndikhumbule Ngqinambi
Akintunde Akinleye
Ruan Hoffmann
Michael Tsegaye
Adriaan de Villiers
Zanele Muholi
Hadia Gana
James Iroha Uchechukwu
Mahmoud Khaled
Sarah Erzfinke
Batoul Shimi
Thierry Mandon
Gabriel Kemzo Malou
Ngone Fall
Odili Donald Odita
Dineo Seshee Bopape
Victor Ekpuk
Doreen Southwood
Clifford Charles
Assefa Gebrekidan
Guy Wouete
Thulani Shongwe
Nicholas Hlobo
Doreen Southwood
Odili Donald Odita
Rehab El Sadek
Papisto Boy
John Murray
Isaac Carlos
Rose Kirumira
Dominique Zinkpè
Senzeni Marasela
Tarek Zaki
Kheto Lualuali
Meshac Gaba
Rafs Mayet
Henk Rossouw
Nawaal Deane
Darryl Accone
Louis Mhlanga
Krishna Luchoomun
Moss Mogale
Samson Kambalu
Abrie Fourie
Dominique Fontaine
Ilse Pahl
Saliou Traore
Alassane Drabo
Harry Mutasa
Moshekwa Langa
Jeremy Wafer
Artists 1992-1998 >>